Today, by the numbers

November 8, 2010 at 5:19 am (Cooking)

My Sunday was whiled away in the kitchen.  By which, I mean, I did nothing else today out of the kitchen except shower and nurse a baby. Preparing brunch and lunch and a simple (/elaborate) pizza dinner takes considerable more time than one might imagine.

6 cups of coffee consumed
1 four-layer coffee-cake baked
3 peanut butter sandwiches spread (as usual)
3 apples quartered (as usual)
unnumerable cups of milk/juice/water poured
4 pizzas made for my sister’s birthday dinner,
11 cheeses/sauces/toppings grated/chopped/cooked/blended (fresh mozzarella, regular mozzarella, pesto, red sauce, carmelized red onions, argula, pineapple, pepparoni, chicken sausage, sun-dried tomatos, red pepper)
1 salad made,
5 toppings chopped/cooked (pumpkin seeds, red onions, corn, black beans, feta)
2 dishwasher loads, filled and emptied
countless surfaces wiped

Does this seem like it should take 6 hours? (I was really trying hard not to hurry and enjoy having the time alone, even if it was work. It was cooking work, which I enjoy. I find myself constantly trying to do everything as quick as possible, sending myself into a tizzy and stressing myself out. It sucks, going through every day that way. But if I slow down, I feel guilty for taking 6 hours to make 3 meals.)

2 Comments

  1. Kelly said,

    I totally know what you mean by trying to do everything as quick as possible! I often think in our go-go-go society we underestimate the time it takes to do something well. Whose says three meals lovingly prepared shouldn’t take six hours! I think you should revel in the fact that you got 6 hours to do something you enjoy!

  2. Julia said,

    Uhm, that list would take me 6 months. You are a super-star.

Leave a Reply

