Tuesday’s Ten Things Thankful

November 3, 2010 at 5:43 am (Gratitude)

Ten things I’m thankful for:

1. Let’s start with the obvious- the right to vote, which I exercised today.

2. My breast pump.  I’ve been leaving Willa for a few hours at a time with my husband or a friend, a couple times a week.  It was time.  Just a few decades ago, it wasn’t possible to leave one’s baby for a much deserved break without putting up with rock-hard breasts and a fussy baby.  Even short breaks do WONDERS for a mama’s sanity.

3. Greta’s preschool.  Play-based, full of fun ways to learn social skills, caring families, a wonderfully intuitive teacher.  Greta grows up a little more every time she goes there.

4. Texas-sized coffee filters, discovered at preschool today.  Auden loves to use pipettes for anything, and these make gorgeous effects when different colors are applied.  We did paper chromatography this summer; with these, it can be on a grandiose scale.

5. Every other Monday.  On which, I am privileged to have seven blessed hours with only one three-month old in my charge.

6. The slider doors on my mini van. I am by no means an auto enthusiast (obviously, right, I drive a mini van), and I generally regard cars as money sinks, but this feature was worth every penny spent.

7. That my kids have offered me portions of their Halloween candy.  Both because it demonstrates they are learning generosity and because I love sugar.

8. Our public library.  Number of materials currently checked out to the JaRuud family: 134.  It’s a little ridiculous, that number, but quite a few of them are for Auden and Parker’s classroom.

9. Pumpkin-based food.  Pumpkin muffins, pumpkin gingerbread cake, pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin milkshake, pumpkin cookies, all consumed by me in October.  In November I will of course add pumpkin pie to the list.  And perhaps pumpkin soup.

10. Fall leaves and the boys were like to rake them.
raking leaves

Leave a Reply

