Halloween Anecdotes

November 2, 2010 at 4:49 am (AJ, Family, GOJ, PJ, Running, WJ)

Halloween magically went off without a hitch this year.  No fights about eating too much candy, no costume disasters.  The worst thing that happened was Greta tripping while trick-or-treating, trying to keep up with her brothers and friends, who were running from house to house.  Hopefully the magic of Halloween will spill over into the magic of Thanksgiving and the magic of Christmas, rather than meaning we’ve used up our one good holiday of the year and Christmas will suck.

I almost thought I ruined it.  Meaning to fill them up on nutritious food prior to the candy, we prepared noodles, chicken, and sweet potato fries for dinner.  The noodles and chicken, at least, are one of the very few sure-fire eats for Greta and Auden.  Halloween night, though, Greta refused all of it.  Plain noodles, are you kidding me?  What’s objectionable about that?  I generally don’t believe in food ultimatums, but I made one.  “If you don’t eat a bite of sweet potato, you can’t eat any candy tonight.”   

It was time to leave, and she wasn’t going to budge.

I couldn’t figure out how in the hell I was going to stay true to my word and not have a tantruming 3-year-old on my hands.  Before I could think of an exit strategy, we were on our way.  Keeping her from eating candy while hurrying from house to house was easy.  Time passed quickly; two hours later we arrived at home.  I reminded her that she could have candy tomorrow after she’d had better nutrition.  And her reply?  OK Mom.  What?  Seriously?  Hallelujah!  She went easily to bed, with me in disbelief putting her down.

How cute is this girl?
Peas!

The Friday before I brought the girls to the Halloween party at Auden and Parker’s school.  They didn’t even load them up with cookies and candy.
Lots of fun Happy Halloween!

That night, the high school cross country team held a Pumpkin Run.  Nothing like candy to motivate kids to run.  Parker was just sure he was going to win a trophy.  I was doubtful.  Thankfully he was happy with a ribbon and three pieces of candy.
Nothing like candy to entice kids to run

I have recently become aware that I have failed in teaching my children how to pose for photographs.
It

This morning, November 1st, Parker says to me, “Let’s light the jack-o-lanterns again tonight. Then, tomorrow, let’s put up the Christmas tree. I just love celebrating the Holidays!”

1 Comment

  1. Jenn @ Juggling Life said,

    How cute everybody is . . . it makes me nostalgic.

Leave a Reply

