TGIF?

September 26, 2010 at 3:48 pm (Parenthood)

Since starting first grade, the boys have acquired an awareness of that most special time of each week: the weekend.  Thursday we had a conversation at the dinner table that went something like this:

Parker: When does the weekend begin?

Dad: For you it starts as soon as the last school bell rings on Friday.  And mine begins as soon as I finish work Friday.

Parker:  Does Greta have a weekend?

Mama: Sure, she gets a long weekend.  (Because her preschool is three days a week.)  She has TGIW.

Auden: But, Mom, you don’t have a weekend.

Parker: Yes, she does.  For her, every day is a weekend!

HAHAHAHAHAHA!  Uh, no.

This Mama’s Saturdays and Sundays aren’t any more relaxing than Monday to Friday, this is true.  Of late, none of her days are relaxing.

I still find myself looking forward to the weekend, even as a stay-at-home mom.  No school lunches to make, no kids to drive to school, no homework to supervise.  Unscheduled time to talk to the older kids, hang out with Mark in the evening and not worry about his 5 o’clock, my 6 o’clock alarm.  But by Sunday night, I’m happy for a school day.  It’s nice to fold laundry in the peace and quiet of only two children.  See some of the other mamas, coming and going at schools.  The rhythm of a week remains because of the family I support.

What doesn’t change, weekday or weekend, is the venue.  I now find it hard to go “off the job” when I’m constantly in my “workplace”.  I might try to chill out on the couch for a bit, but my eyes stray to the cobwebs, the piles of paper.  I consider the email I should write to the teacher.  I remember there’s laundry to be moved along and I’m up again.  When I had a full-time job, I could somehow ignore it all when tired.

Today, my weekly rhythm is disrupted, and I’m annoyed.  The boys are off at their Grandpa’s, and Mark decided to head to the mountains.  So, here the girls and I are.  Just like any other weekday.  If Greta wasn’t battling a bad head cold, I’d plan something fun.  But instead, we have the (sick)wellness visits I managed to score on a Saturday, which just adds to the weekday feel.  It’s also the second Saturday in a row I’ve been in solo charge of the kidlings.  Not that I’m counting.  It’s not a usual occurrence, and it’s taken a toll.  Today every part of me is longing to be in charge of only myself, just for a bit.  It will happen tomorrow, I will make sure of that.  But I will have to leave the house.

If you’re a SAHM, how do you find relaxation at home?

1 Comment

  1. Jessica said,

    Funny, I was just thinking about this. If I’m not on kid duty, I’m on work duty, or housekeeper duty, or treasurer duty. It’s a rare evening when I can sit and knit after the kids go to bed. But it does happen. (I’m watching DH, who’s on kid duty, sitting in a comfy chair with his eyes closed. I guess he finds a way…)

Leave a Reply

