Oh yeah, July is SOON

May 7, 2010 at 12:42 am (Family, Parenthood, WJ) (, )

A couple of weeks ago, at 29 weeks pregnant, a thought popped into my head: “Hey, we probably need to do some preparation for this baby.”  Two weeks and a midwife visit later, I’m officially freaking out.

Since I haven’t posted much, it may not be so obvious that my body has trucked along in this pregnancy without nearly as much thought as I gave the first two.  I’ve certainly felt pregnant (and thusly tired) throughout, but this time my head hasn’t roamed to the baby(ies!) every minute or so.  Such things probably happen to most pregnant women dealing with the everyday needs of three youngin’s.  In most ways the distraction from the pregnancy obsession was a good thing, but I’m now realizing it did help get me in the right frame of mind for birth and a newborn.  Sort of like Braxton Hick’s contractions getting one ready for real labor.

Just to be clear though, I am still allowed to get annoyed when people say- “your pregnancy has gone by so fast!”  Um, no, I’ve felt like I was growing a baby every single day I was growing this baby.  All 216(ish!) days.

So far, what I’ve done for Apple is clean out half of Greta’s dresser for her clothes.  Not that I have any yet.  (I expect to get Greta’s back that went to my niece, but what if it’s a boy?!?)  Generally, baby clothes are usually extremely easy to come by.  More worrisome to me is our lack of a doula, a plan for our kids while I’m in labor, a birth tub, a car seat, all of the homebirth necessities, and a name we agree on.  Most importantly, I just don’t feel like I’m in the right state of mind for birthing yet.  I’m hoping that’s because I’m not supposed to give birth yet, and that it’s coming.  We’re signed up for an all day birth class, and last time that really helped me feel on the same page as Mark, ready.

In the meantime, there’s birthday parties for two six! year! old! boys! and their father, plenty of meals to prepare and wet panties to change, a preschool and kindergarten year to end, and a baby that needs to put her head down.

Leave a Reply

