I resolve

January 1, 2010 at 4:27 pm (Family) ()

Plenty of people don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions.  Including my husband.  I think they signal Hope.  Hope that one can change her life for the better, and not just let life happen to her.  Sometimes when I’ve been in the midst of the post-Christmas-letdown-winter-blues of January 1st, I haven’t had enough Resolve to formulate any.

I used to make resolutions at each solstice.  I still think the quarterly reminder makes one more likely to stick with anything.  And I like to mark the passing of the seasons.  But I’ve gotten away from Solstice Resolutions as a mom because, well, I just don’t have it in me.

This year, I’m considering a long list of New Year’s Resolutions though.  I just need to cull it down to something attainable.

1. To wake up weekdays by 6:30 – destressing that time of day.

2. Work on communication with my husband.

3. Take more walks.

4. Play more with my kids.

5. Read more books.

6. Watch very little TV.  Potentially “break” our TV altogether.

7. Create chore charts for my kids – less nagging them to pick up, more actual choring being done

8. Reinstate our family meetings that have fallen by the wayside.

9. Formulate a plan for picking up more income and/or reducing expenses so that the two actually match.

10. Last but not least- take care of my body and mind in order to grow a whole new person!

I should probably toss the list and just have one: Be perfect.  Sounds doable, right?

I’ll let you know what I go with.

Leave a Reply

