Alternative Christmas tree decorations

December 5, 2009 at 12:34 am (AJ, PJ) (, )

As soon as we got home from my parents after Thanksgiving, Parker started up the begging to put up the Christmas tree.  Last year we succumbed and bought an artificial tree.  I don’t know if it’s really better for the environment or not- we’re not cutting down a tree every year, but eventually it will end up in a landfill instead of composted.  At any rate, the current minus is lack of evergreen smell, but the current plus is you can keep it up Black Friday to January 10th or so.
This year I wasn’t in any hurry to put it up, but I knew it would be sooner than later.  What I told Parker was, “As soon as I catch up on laundry and dishes and pick up the family room, we can put it up.” Which I knew I’d have to go back on, because that would mean it would go up next October.  Soon afterwards, I noticed Parker, up on a stool at the sink.  “How do I do this again?” he asked.  So, he scrubbed a few pots, and I decided Why not?
After the tree was up, though, I hit a snag. I could not locate the box of ornaments anywhere in the garage.  They’ve “gotta be somewhere” as Auden likes to say, but I haven’t found them yet.  Never fear, creative kids to the rescue.  They did this Monday morning before I was even downstairs.

Alternative Christmas ornaments
Our tree is now an eagle-kitty cat-Bakugan-scorpian-semi-truck-Clone Trooper-hammerhead shark-trap door spider-themed tree.  In other words, Perfect.  For us JaRuuds, that is.  I’m sure not for your family.

+

In other news, I’ve been feeling much better. All my pregnancy symptoms ceased so suddenly that I was getting worried, but it’s been almost two weeks, so I guess all is well in there. Currently the only things making me nauseous are turkey, gingerbread, and peanut butter. The latter is truly unfortunate as my kids demand it at least once or twice a day. Maybe it’s time for them to branch out nutritionally. Currently I’m scrubbing Greta’s face and hands down with citrus soap after lunch so I can stand to lay down with her to start her nap. Overall, though, I don’t have much to complain about. Except how crappy the options are for VBACs. But that’s a topic for another day.

3 Comments

  1. Kelly said,

    I love your tree! I love that you recognize it is perfect for your family too!

  2. Jessica said,

    Beautiful! A family work of art. I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better, too!

  3. Slowly but slowly « JaRuuds said,

    […] I was begged convinced to do it before I actually had prepared for it.  I couldn’t even find the tree ornaments in the abyss that is our […]

Leave a Reply

