more about time

October 29, 2009 at 1:44 pm (Family, Parenthood) ()

Last week I shared what I don’t do with my time.

What’s more important is how I do spend it.

A key to leading a purposeful life is to choose where the time goes, rather than let it slip through your fingers.  Easier said than done.

Back in my corporate days, in order to increase efficiency, our director ordered a time audit of the operators on the manufacturing floor.  They were observed for a week or so, and every single movement they did was recorded.  As you might guess, they found it just a wee bit insulting that management thought a group of strangers could tell them how to do their job faster.  I cringe at the thought of any time audit results on my Mama Days.  Just how much time did I waste this morning, running back to the house for an extra coat, then my coffee cup, and finally my wedding ring I took off while cutting out biscuits?  My aunt thinks pretty much everybody in our family has undiagnosed ADD.  Some days I agree, others not.  How could I not be frazzled taking care of three kids, two of which are twins that still need constant fighting break-ups, and one of which is two years old and often doesn’t sleep through the night?

But, doesn’t it sound interesting to know?- where does the time go?  Many nights I wonder what I did all day. 

So, I’m going to find out.  In a slightly less detailed scale than the corporate time audit.  I’ve been recording every time I switch activities this week.  It seems a little obsessive, maybe.  I’ll admit a propensity to do more record keeping than most would care to.  But I think it’s fun.  And all those money management people are always advocating that one starts by figuring out where every dollar goes.  This is the same concept, with time.  The end goal is to ensure that I’m spending time on the activities that are important to me and my family.

I don’t mean to suggest that every minute of the day needs to be productive.  This little activity is meant to make sure I have enough time to relax, to play.  Knowing that when I do, it’s right where I’m supposed to be.

I’ll post the results this weekend.  I haven’t done any tallying yet, but I can already tell you- I need to do some rearranging.  To fit with what actually matters.

1 Comment

  1. I know you’ve been on the edge of your seats « JaRuuds said,

    […] was glad I posted that I was going to keep track of my time for a week.  Otherwise I might have been tempted to be less than deligent […]

Leave a Reply

