Banana bread

October 29, 2009 at 2:16 pm (Cooking) (, )

Last week I posted about my mishaps getting usable sunflower seeds from the flowers we grew.  I ended up with about a cup of extra extra toasted, semi-crushed sunflowers seeds.  I considered baking bread, but I had a couple loaves of store-bought, and I wasn’t 100% sure what they would do in a yeast bread.  Could I just add them in, or would they replace just a bit of the flour?

Instead, I went with what I know- a quick bread.  The choice was also steered by remembering I had some banana puree in the freezer. 

It’s hard to go wrong with quick breads and muffins.  One can get away with lots of substitutions in a quick bread, so they are perfect recipes to play with.  Playing with a quick bread recipe means adding nutrition and using up good food that doesn’t have another obvious purpose.  I’ve added in the past: browned apples, leftover thawed blueberries, and the twelve raisins and two almonds sitting in a bowl that were originally served as oatmeal toppings.  You can even add leftover oatmeal itself.

In my double batch of banana bread, I added all the toasted sunflower seeds I had, and substituted most of the white flour in the Betty Crocker recipe with wheat flour, gluten, wheat germ, and wheat bran.  One of my boys asked, “Are these chocolate chips in here?”  That was how toasted the sunflowers were!  Brown, but not burnt.  Was it a disservice to his nutritional education that I let him believe they were chocolate?  Either way, yum.

Leave a Reply

