Moving On

July 10, 2009 at 9:19 pm (Family) ()

Today seems a fitting day to renew my blogging efforts.  As you can see, I took a [brief] stab at blogging over a year ago, which quickly fizzled out.

Here’s where I am right now:  sitting in a bleak corporate office, in the dark, about to exit the building for the last time.  I’ve worked here ten years and nine days.  They are closing this facility altogether, and over a hundred of us have been laid off.  I COULDN’T BE HAPPIER. 

I’ve wanted to leave for a long time.

Most of the people are great, and some of the time the job was great.  But a big corporation is not for me.  I plan to never prepare another set of RFT metrics [right first time, for you non-corporate types], call into another telecon, or do another on-line anti-harassment training.  Please, please, God, don’t make me eat these words.

So, what am I excited about, besides NOT doing what I was doing?  Many things, but first and foremost being at home with my kids for a while. 

For 4/5 of our kid-filled years, MJ has stayed at home and taken on the tasks of maintaining the household and keeping the kids cared for and fed.  He has excelled at much of it, and I really can’t describe how lucky I am to have had the home support I did when I went to work every day.  Most nights, dinner was ready when I got home.  Not many people have that luxury, even if they are lucky enough to have a stay-at-home spouse.  I have some big shoes to fill in that regard.

Things will be different, there’s no doubt about that.

Leave a Reply

